RTC Chip Stopped working after few months.


I have built lots of clocks using RTC chips. I had no problems until now. For some reason this clocks DS1307 chip stopped working. Its ran continuously for four and half months. Seriously guys I am still looking for a reason why the DS1307 suddenly gave up.

About pasanlaksiri

I am K.G. Pasan Laksiri Karunanayake and founder of OptoElectronics.lk. Since 2011 I have specialized in designing custom electronics for industrial applications. Over the years I have engineered a broad range of custom industrial products. When I work with a client I place a very high value on integrity, honesty and clear communication. With years of field experience I have learned that all business relationships are personal relationships. The more I know about the client and his project, the more I can contribute to a successful end product. After I learn about the client requirement I always give them the better understanding and clear picture about, how the end product will function in real world. In addition to the client requirement, I also offer lots of options, features and improvements. And I always very concern about the end product quality.
This entry was posted in Digital Electronics. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to RTC Chip Stopped working after few months.

  1. atomsoft says:

    Maybe its your crystal? Just a thought. I would recommend a DS3232 (I2C also) or DS3234(SPI)

    I used the SPI version tons of times…

    Like

  2. atomsoft says:

    just a thought. If you have a scope im sure you can test the Crystal and see if its well… I cant wait to get a scope😀

    Like

  3. Dhinesh says:

    Make sure you use ground plane in pcb for crystal, else solder a wire on top surface of crystal and connect to ground. it will work.

    Like

  4. Dhinesh says:

    crystal must not to be in standing position, it must be laying flat on surface of pcb with ground plane.

    Like

  5. pasanlaksiri says:

    Hey its not the crystal. I just replace the DS1307 and then test again. Damn its working. DS chip is totally dead. Not sure why.

    Like

  6. Dhinesh says:

    ok… but the crystal must be horizontal to surface of PCB, check datasheet, because when crystal is in vertical to PCB it will get disturbance with other signal , like a antenna., this will make a difference in time,
    always ground the body of crystal.

    there are even more better solution for RTC crystal, nowdays there are using a square wave generator ics in place of crystal.

    any way your problem got solved , by changing the chip.

    Nowdays you are not coming to gtalk. why is that so, try to get some time to login gtalk,

    Like

  7. pasanlaksiri says:

    Hi Dhinesh thank you very much for valuable advice.
    Sorry friend. Im pretty busy these days with some suppliers and clients.

    I will buzz you soon.

    Bye Friend.

    Thanks again for your valuable advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

