World’s smallest flash microcontroller package


Atmel announced production availability for the world’s smallest flash AVR® microcontroller package. The Atmel ATtiny4, ATtiny5, ATtiny9 and ATtiny10 AVR microcontroller (MCU) come in an ultra-small 8-pad UDFN package, with a dimension of only 2mm x 2mm x 0.6mm, and weighing less than 8 mg to reduce the package size as much as 55 percent compared to the market’s smallest package offering available today.

These products target applications in the consumer electronics,

* Electronic toys and games
* Circuit breakers, soft start relays and zero-crossing control
* Intelligent sensors, ADCs and sensor interfaces
* Wireless Sensors
* Glue logic
* Personal care, shavers, and toothbrushes
* Accessories for cellular or cordless telephones
* Air fresheners
* Medical testers, dispensers and inhalers
* Remote controls and controllers
* Home automation and household appliances
* Lighting control and dimmers
* Alarms, safety and security
* Cellphone Keyboard controllers
* Wireless Computer Accessories
* Electronic Toothbrushes and Other Personal Care
* Portable GPS and Other Hand Held Instruments
* Portable Media Players
* Portable Medical Equipment
* Portable Sports Gear
* Remote Controllers
* Solar Powered Equipment

The smaller, lighter, faster and low-power microcontrollers from the Atmel ATtiny4/5/9/10 family also make it possible to integrate a powerful AVR MCU in some of the smallest designs.

SourceAVR Solutions

About pasanlaksiri

I am K.G. Pasan Laksiri Karunanayake and founder of OptoElectronics.lk. Since 2011 I have specialized in designing custom electronics for industrial applications. Over the years I have engineered a broad range of custom industrial products. When I work with a client I place a very high value on integrity, honesty and clear communication. With years of field experience I have learned that all business relationships are personal relationships. The more I know about the client and his project, the more I can contribute to a successful end product. After I learn about the client requirement I always give them the better understanding and clear picture about, how the end product will function in real world. In addition to the client requirement, I also offer lots of options, features and improvements. And I always very concern about the end product quality.
This entry was posted in Digital Electronics, New Technologies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to World’s smallest flash microcontroller package

  1. Rasika says:

    WoW cool.super tiny.perfect for tiny flying toys.Hey Mr.Pasan,its nice to see a techno blog from a srilankan person.Thanks for all your posts man.I’d like to see some remote control circuits which are made without using any microcontrollers but using parts awailable in sri lanka.Thanks alot.wish you all the best

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Hi Rasika.

      Thank you very much visiting my blog.
      Actually Rasika microcontrollers are pretty famous in Sri Lanka too. Mostly Microchip and Atmels. And cheap too. Microchip cloned USB programmers are also cheaply available in SL too. So if you like it will not be hard to learn.

      Like

  2. ruwan says:

    Hi Pasan,

    I haven’t found any Atmel seller in Sri Lanka, however MicroChip PIC is available to buy from almost all electronic item sellers in SL. Do you know any place to buy Atmel AVR Microcontrollers and how about the price?
    I am too planning to learn Microcontroller programming(already have a Atmel MKII programmer but without any Microcontrollers, prices of Atmel even from EBay sellers are pretty high compared to PIC prices in SL)🙂

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Actually Ruwan. Why exactly you are looking for Atmels instead of PICs. Now a days there are one heck of PIC mcus popping out.

      How is your knowledge about MCUs Avr,PIC or etc ?

      If you are a starter and if you are living in SL why don’t you just buy some cheap PICs and PK2 or PK3 programmer ( its clones are pretty cheap now ) and Start your journey. As I see it is the best way to learn.

      First I also start by referring books and all. But then I thought to join some professional class. Its a high voltage Jump Start for me. He he hee.😀

      Okay for your question, ATmega 64 and some other Atmels are already here bro.

      Like

  3. ruwan says:

    Actually I don’t know the reason for choosing Atmel over PIC(both are pretty good competitors)
    I’ve done some electronics(as a hobby) when I was a teenager but with arrival computers I never looked back on Electronics up until now(book about Arduino made me curious about Microcontrollers )
    I am on computer programming(Java) and have little time for other activities. Already collected more than 50 e-books about Microcontrollers(both PIC and Atmel AVR). However already made Arduino LCD clock with DS1301 and LED blinking with PIC as the time permits. Further doing so found that such activities are more enjoyable than programming(Feel jealous about you, :O)
    Yes I am referring to books but lack of time is the problem.
    I am living in Sri Lanka and looked for Atemel AVR Microcontrollers from 1st Cross Street sellers and had no sucess.
    How about the price of Atmega (like to buy some Atemega 328P MCUs)) ICs ?(hoping they are as cheap as PICs)

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      You mean DS1307. Ooooh you being jealous with me.😀 Yes there are lots of e-books. I think Ruwan you better select one MCU first. Either PIC or AVR. If not you are in a mess. If you select PICs I prefer 16F877a its easy to learn.

      Goto 1st cross st. and find the shop name called UNITECH TRADING. Its a lovely big shop with lots of hobby parts. You will find They do have ATmels. I think you better buy Atmega64 instead of ATmega32.

      Like

      • ruwan says:

        I checked with Unitech once and they said no, perhaps they might gone out of stock at that time, anyway thanks for the information !
        Yes I agree instead of learning two MCUs in parallel it’s good go for one.

        Yep it’s DS 1307.

        Keep up your good work !!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

