8 x 64 LED Dot Matrix Sign board. Test 1.0


Finally I built little bigger Dot Matrixs sign board. But still there is lot to improve. At the moment im working on character spacing algorithm.

And also you can see the characters isn’t go with the display. Thats because my character gen is for 5X7 displays not for 8X8.

I hope to post here all of my improvements on this project.

Related to this topic >> 8 x 64 Display New Font Set Added

About pasanlaksiri

I am K.G. Pasan Laksiri Karunanayake and founder of OptoElectronics.lk. Since 2011 I have specialized in designing custom electronics for industrial applications. Over the years I have engineered a broad range of custom industrial products. When I work with a client I place a very high value on integrity, honesty and clear communication. With years of field experience I have learned that all business relationships are personal relationships. The more I know about the client and his project, the more I can contribute to a successful end product. After I learn about the client requirement I always give them the better understanding and clear picture about, how the end product will function in real world. In addition to the client requirement, I also offer lots of options, features and improvements. And I always very concern about the end product quality.
This entry was posted in Digital Electronics. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 8 x 64 LED Dot Matrix Sign board. Test 1.0

  1. Nicky says:

    Cool demo! could you share your circuits and programs, the algorithms you have used. Or please write some tutorial to get started on such scrolling project. i’m very interested.

    Like

  2. Dave says:

    Cool Project pasanlaksiri ,am very much interested in ur project,we are still waiting for your schematics and codes

    Like

  3. vinoth says:

    please send how to design the 8*64 led dot matrix display

    Like

  4. mamun muntasir says:

    it’s great mr. prasan.

    i am trying to make such type of project. may i have your help?

    Like

  5. SEBFRANCE says:

    Hi,

    Very good job, do you have de soft and schematic

    Please Thanks you

    Sébastien

    Like

  6. Chathura says:

    Please Schematics and ASM Or Hex Please…..

    Like

  7. swapan chy says:

    very good project.pls send sch & hex code by mail.
    thank u

    Like

  8. ahmad says:

    very nice i ned your help plese

    Like

  9. ahmad says:

    very nice i need your help plese

    Like

  10. ravinder says:

    hello sir Cool Project pasanlaksiri g ,am very much interested in ur project.I’m also try to make dot matrix sign board by pic16f628a with 5×32 led.it work well. but i want to make a big sign board display. plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me. plzzzzzz send some shematic or asm files. ok thanks a lot.

    Like

  11. Pingback: 2010 in review « PicTronics

  12. ismael says:

    very good display.

    but you promised to put the scheme, hex, software.

    I wanted to do this project
    thanks

    Like

  13. shohel says:

    Very good project.

    Do you have any idea to share it with other? Or any idea of the way to share.

    Thanks

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Thanks.

      Yes I have shared it with many people here. Also I uploaded it to few hosts. But files are deleted coz some punks report the links.
      I’ll mail you the project files. But sorry I do not have any schematics for the projects. Because hardware part is pretty easy.
      you’ll understand the hardware part when you examine the code.

      Bye.

      Like

  14. shohel says:

    Pasan

    Many thanks for you response.

    Actually I’m trying to make something for me, but I’m new in this area.
    Can you tell me one thing, which development tool and compiler you used for this code?

    If you give the permission then I’ll ask some tips later when I need.

    Thsnks

    Like

  15. shohel says:

    Thanks Pasan.

    Another support need?
    Can you visit the following site>
    http://www.clickbd.com/bangladesh/212026-microchip-usb-pic-programmer.html

    Is this device ok to program the required Micro controller?

    Thanks

    Like

  16. saga says:

    Very good project….Very good project….

    Like

  17. titut says:

    what are you using to driving coloum of dot matrixs sir? using shift register or another?

    Like

  18. titut says:

    are you using that shift register to sending the data or just using to scanning the matrix coloum?
    I ever made some running text and digiclock using led matrix with scanning coloum (4017 decade counter use to scanning coloum) and the data is sending via parallel from the port of microcontroler.
    and I also try the shift register to send the data coulom (scanning matrix’s row) , but I found some difficult to adjusting data when I make running text, but easily to make unrunning character, like digiclock. can you explain how to adjusting data easily to built running text with data is sending use shift register.?
    sorry for bad english sir….🙂

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Hi there,

      No, In here I use shift registers to select the columns. Data load by port pins.
      This project is my fist ever project. It is a milestone for me. Then develop it bit by bit.
      Took some time but worth.

      Using 4017 will be total mess friend.

      There are many effective ways to scan a display. But depend on your skills and all.
      When you getting to know it better. Sure you will understand what I’m talking about.

      What language you are using. assembly, basic, c, C++ ?

      First u better load your data to a BUFFER ARRAY. Then change the buffer ( Scroll or some effects )
      Then shift out the data to your SHIFT REGISTERS.

      Like

  19. Dinesh Kumar Wickramasinghe says:

    Hi Pasan
    This is a great project and I like to build it
    Can you please send me the schematic and source code of this project.
    Thank you..!!

    Like

  20. Everything is ok!!!!!!!, But ?where can i find the code y diagram, my add is pekevi@hotmail.com. please send me any information, thank a lot

    Like

Leave a Reply

