HT1632 successfully interfaced with PIC MCU


I successfully interfaced HT1632 chip with PIC mcu today. The data sheet does not contains that much literature. Because of that interfacing this module makes little harder.

Pics

youtube video link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dAQV2urDHQ

Some of the blurb:

2416 Dot Matrix Red Display Information Boards is manufactured by Sure Electronics. It can be driven by SPI like interface. It can be easy interfaced to any microcontrollers. It can be widely used in panel meter, big clocks and any other information display usage.
It’s a memory mapping LED display board and driven by HT1632 LED display controller. The device supports 16-gradation LEDs for each outline using PWM control with software instructions. A serial interface is conveniently provided for the command mode and data mode. Only three or four signals are required for the interface between the host controller and the information board. The display can be extended by cascading the information board for wider applications.

Main Feature

* Size: 4inch×2.5inch display area.
* 2416 dot matrix on each board.
* LED emitting color is Red.
* Operating voltage and current: 5V, 350mA (Max.), 200mA(Avg.)
* 16-level PWM brightness control.
* Each board contains 6 pieces of 0808 LED dot matrix boards.
* Serial MCU interface—-CS, RD*(optional), WR, DATA.
* Cascading function for extended applications (up to 4 boards possible).
* Power can be supplied and command data can be transmitted by IDC sockets from microcontrollers.
* Auxiliary power supply terminal blocks may be needed when connected to next LED matrix board.

Sure Electronics Link >> http://www.sureelectronics.net/goods.php?id=979

About pasanlaksiri

I am K.G. Pasan Laksiri Karunanayake and founder of OptoElectronics.lk. Since 2011 I have specialized in designing custom electronics for industrial applications. Over the years I have engineered a broad range of custom industrial products. When I work with a client I place a very high value on integrity, honesty and clear communication. With years of field experience I have learned that all business relationships are personal relationships. The more I know about the client and his project, the more I can contribute to a successful end product. After I learn about the client requirement I always give them the better understanding and clear picture about, how the end product will function in real world. In addition to the client requirement, I also offer lots of options, features and improvements. And I always very concern about the end product quality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to HT1632 successfully interfaced with PIC MCU

  1. belouet says:

    Hi,

    I search pic examples to use two HT1632 because it’s ok for one but nothing on second ?

    Sincerely
    Eric

    Like

  2. tejonbiker says:

    What PIC do you use?

    Like

  3. Marco says:

    Hi, I have this LED display too, but i’m not able to make the display to work, could you send me the code of the proyect you made?, it would be very helpful.

    Thanks!😀

    Like

  4. Berny says:

    Hi there!

    I would love to get a copy from the code too..
    I am trying to get some light out of those boards.

    Like

  5. Abdul Razzaq says:

    Hi,
    I buy HT1632 display board from sure electronic. I m usint atmel controller to drive this pcb but I am totally stuck. Could you please guide me after initilization of HT1632 display driver and i have enter all the data but there is no display. Data sheet has not enough information. Is there any refesh data time. Please help me I shall be very thankful to you.
    Best Regards
    Abdul

    Like

  6. Mike says:

    Hi,

    At first, congratulations about your blog and your projects.
    There are great projects and I would like knowing to do some
    kinf of stuff … perhaps in a few years !!

    I’m a french hobbyist in electronics.
    I bought some LED matrix from Sure Electronics (0832 & 2416)
    a few weeks ago. I’m using PIC16F/18F MCUs and HITECH PICC
    compiler.
    But I can’t do anything on these displays. The HT1632 datasheet
    doesn’t seem very clear.

    I found a project on your blog with Sure Electronics Matrix and
    a PIC (which ?).
    I would be very cool if you could help me by sending some
    information like your source code and your schematic.

    Thanks a lot,

    Mike.

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Thank your for the Comment mike.

      ” perhaps in a few years !” In few years you will be a master.

      Check your mails I sent the code. But I haven’t drawn any schamatics.
      Look at the HT data sheet and try to understand the code.

      But yor comment sounds like you are a beginner.
      So I think your going to start it from the wrong place.
      First do some classic LED on off testings. Read some e-books and
      do some google.

      Like

  7. babajoe says:

    I have a 24×16 led dit matrix by Sure Electronics but I am unable to make it work. Can you send me the code please? Thnx in advance.

    Like

  8. babajoe says:

    Thanks a lot man!

    Like

  9. aravind says:

    i have using ic ht1632c for dot matrix 8*8 led display for atmel ic 89s52.
    i need c code for driving ht1632c with 89s52

    Like

  10. alexander says:

    hi, can you help me with code for an 16F628 ?
    thank you in advance, and congratulations for all you projects !

    Like

  11. Dineshkumar.M says:

    Please send me PIC and HT1632C interface code using SPI commuication Thanks
    Dinesh
    dineshtamil24@yahoo.com

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      K. Check your mails now.

      Like

    • Dineshkumar.M says:

      I have completed the interface between HT and 8051 (16*24).But all led’s are not glowing.Please send me hardware Circuit based on your PIC development program. How much current is require for the all(384) LED .s glowing….
      dineshtamil24@yahoo.com.

      Like

      • Dineshkumar.M says:

        I have completed the interface between HT and 8051 (16*24).But all led’s are not glowing.Please send me hardware Circuit based on your PIC development program. How much current is require for the all(384) LED .s glowing….

        dineshtamil24@yahoo.com.

        Please reply as soon as possible

        Like

      • pasanlaksiri says:

        Dineshkumar.M : But all led’s are not glowing.

        You are using the LED module or u have built one for your self using HT1632. If you do check the hardware first. If your using the prebuilt module then I am pretty sure double check your program.
        If you interface it successfully then it must work. As you know its a ram mapping LED driver. Each LED represent a bit of a internal ram. So how do you say when u set a bit LEDs are not glowing. It must work. Please check again your protocol.

        Like

      • Dineshkumar says:

        thanks for your reply and support.

        I have one doubt..COM0-R0-…..R24 working properly.but COM1….Com15 is not working.Address is incrementing properly.That means The Ram data are not incrementing…Please guide me
        Thanks in Advance

        regards
        Dinesh

        Like

  12. Can you please send me the code for 877a?
    tyvm!

    Like

  13. Zsolt says:

    Hi!

    Please send me PIC and HT1632C too.

    Thanks!

    Like

  14. Pratik .R. Bhagat says:

    Can you send me the code as-well. I tried reading the datasheets. But there is not much information given. I am trying to code for last 15 days but not able to glow a single led. I am writing code in avr-studio. But your pic code will do for me. As I will convert it. Kindly help me. My is as follow:
    dudedevil100@gmail.com

    Regards,
    Pratik

    Like

  15. Pratik .R. Bhagat says:

    I got the code. Thanks. I will check the sure-electronic board working and will post my queries .

    Regards,
    Pratik .R. Bhagat

    Like

  16. Pratik .R. Bhagat says:

    Hi,
    I converted the code to avr32 using avr-studio. Now my problem is I need to turn on both cs1 and cs2 dip switches of the sure-elec-board. And only 8×24 upper half portion leds are lighting up.

    Like

  17. Dineshkumar says:

    Thanks for your reply and support.

    My doubt is, COM0 – R0 ….R24 is working good.but COM1…COM15 is not working properly.Address is incrementing (ROW)properly but data(COM) is not incrementing properly.Please guide me
    Thanks in advance.

    Regards
    Dinesh

    Like

  18. sharul says:

    hye there!..

    I am interested in your project. I am a university student and I am conducting my project “led moving display 5×7 size with speed controller”. i see one of your project in youtube “YouTube – LED MATRIX Test 3”..Can you help me, because I have the circuit diagram and it’s hard to understand. my speed controller not working and the output is not as I expected. Can you guide me by giving circiut diagram one of your projects successful. what I need is a basic circuit. I strongly appreciate it.

    Like

  19. ShreePrasad says:

    Can I get some code. Some problem with my coding. Also can we blink only one or two leds by writing on there addresses. I mean is it neccessary to write all ram address before displaying or we can write to any address and blink the led. Also pasan kindly send me commented code as I am noob in display drivers.
    Waiting for your response.

    shree

    Like

  20. mAx says:

    Hi! pasanlaksiri, Since I have one of 8×32 de-dp105 sure led module can you send me the code?
    I would be very gratefulI !!!

    mAx

    Like

  21. Charudatt says:

    Hi, could you send me the code too. I am working with Proton BASIC.. I would like to study it and adapt it for Sure0832 display module.

    regards

    Like

  22. George Tsenkov says:

    Hi,
    Please send me your PIC/HT1632 code.

    Thanks
    George.

    Like

  23. Murali says:

    Hi i am interfacing 12f675 with HT1621.I didn’t understand the driver datasheet could you send me your code according to that i will do.

    Like

  24. Vijay says:

    Hi, I am successfully interface the HT1632c with the LED, its working fine. The brightness of the LED’s is not quite well in the daylight. Do you know any good company for Brighter LED even in the daylight also please send me the part number and data sheet?
    Thanks in advance.

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Hi, that LED modules does not have any power handling drivers. They just drive the LEDs directly from the chip. So the brightness is not so good.
      How about you modd the display..! U could make a new PCB using high bright LEDs with power handling drivers on board. If you do, you might be able to sell couple hundred PCBs on eBay right away.🙂

      Like

  25. Enrique Diaz de Leon says:

    Hi, i am Enrique, Great work!

    could you help me? i have pic 16f628A too, but i dont understad the code to interface it with HT1632, could you send me a code example.
    Thanks and best regards

    Like

  26. priya says:

    hi i’m trying to interface ht1632 to my pic microcontroller (16f887)but i’m not able to do it
    can anyone help.

    thanks,

    Like

  27. Anderson Frederico says:

    Hi, I tried to use the sure electronic’s code in 18f2523 and 16f886,

    but does not display nothing, could you send me any pic code to
    make some test.

    thanks
    best reguards

    Like

  28. Leonardo says:

    Hi, Can you send me the code. I tried reading the datasheets. But there is not much information given. I am trying to code but not able to glow a single led.😦

    Thanks!!

    Like

  29. Vijay D says:

    Hi,
    I tried to improve the brightness of the through the drivers as suggested on the HT1632c datasheet but still the brightness is not well.
    1) Can you please suggest me the High power driver circuit also send the circuit or suggest any drivers?
    2) I am trying to control the PWM but by default its taking only one value. How to control it?

    Thanks in advance

    Like

  30. Vijay D says:

    Hi,
    I tried to increase the brightness of the LED using the drivers as suggested in the HT1632c datasheet but the its not increased.
    1) Could you please send the high power drivers to make LED brighter
    2) Unable to control PWM, constantly its taking only one value.
    How to get rid of this?

    Thanx in advance

    Like

  31. hi sir ..
    for HT 1632c external crystal oscillator hardware circuit and with software otherwise how increase HT processing speed?

    thank u!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  32. hi sir ..
    for HT 1632c external crystal oscillator hardware circuit and with software I’ll need because HT scrolling speed low otherwise how increase HT processing speed?

    Like

  33. AMI says:

    Hello Sir,

    I want to interface PIC16F1937 and LED matrix from Sure Electronics (0832 & 2416). Last few days I am trying a lot but nothing happened on Display.
    Please help me . if possible send me your code for reference.

    Thanks .

    Like

  34. Mayur says:

    Hi pasanlaksiri sir,
    I had done 7×80 matrix using shift register and pic 16f887,now i had seen a wonderful ic ht1632c , I want to code with this please help.
    Please send me PIC and HT1632C interface code using SPI communication
    thanks

    Like

  35. vijay.j says:

    hi sir ..
    for HT 1632c external crystal oscillator hardware circuit and with software otherwise how increase HT processing speed?

    thank u!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  36. Vijay D says:

    Hi,
    How can i enable HT1632c external Clk. Is there any sequence to enable? Suggest me please.

    Thanks

    Like

  37. Vinoth says:

    Hello,
    I have tried to display image using ht1632 with pic 18f controller..could you please support me for this one…and also I could not control the brightness of individual LED..in pwm logic , I have done logic.but the brightness is varying for whole board(24*16) ..if you have base code for this please share to me….
    Thanks,
    Vinoth M

    Like

    • pasanlaksiri says:

      Hi,
      Friends those board are not capable of handling individual brightness of pixels. Read the HT1632C data sheet. When you set the brightness it applies to the whole board.

      Like

  38. ivan says:

    hello, can you send me the code for this project please iwmmail@o2.co.uk

    Like

  39. Billy says:

    Hello, can I get a copy of the code? I have been struggling for months trying to get the displays to work on my PIC. (I’m using a PIC24HJ64GP502).

    I understand the data sheets, but just struggle with the code.

    Thanks!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

